Skip to content
Warranty Claim GuideIndependent guides

The warranty guide

DeWalt Warranty: What's Covered and How to File a Claim

Independent guide. Not affiliated with or endorsed by DeWalt. Check DeWalt's current warranty terms before you file.

Last checked

Is it covered? (quick verdict)

DeWalt's warranty page splits terms by product line S1:

Line Term and remedy as stated
Tools bought on/after 1 Jan 2004 (3-year line) 3 years from purchase or delivery, whichever is later; repair without charge; includes a 1-year free service contract and a 90-day money-back guarantee for power tools, lasers and nailers
7-year line 7 years; same structure
Mechanics tools (wrenches, sockets, ratchets, drive accessories) Full lifetime; replacement if the tool fails for any reason
Hand tools Limited lifetime for as long as the original end-user owns it; repair or replace; one year if electrical or electronic parts
Compressors, heavy-duty industrial tools, heated gear 1 year
Pressure washers Pump 2 years, frame 1 year, accessories 90 days
Footwear 90 days

Most warranties cover the original end-user only and purchases from DeWalt or an authorised seller S1. Exclusions listed include normal wear, abuse, accessories and repairs by others S1.

Before you file: checklist

  • [ ] Proof of purchase: the page says it "may be required" for the 3-year, 7-year, hand-tool and SDS MAX sections and for returned footwear; it is not required for mechanics tools; not stated for compressors, heated gear and pressure washers S1.
  • [ ] Registration: Not stated by DeWalt S1.
  • [ ] Seller: confirm you bought from DeWalt or an authorised seller; seller-authorisation questions go to an email address on the page (internetadmin@sbdinc.com for most lines, netadmin@sbdinc.com for hand tools) S1.
  • [ ] Photos and serial number: Not stated by DeWalt S1.
  • [ ] Identify your line (3-year, 7-year, hand tool, mechanics) before contacting support S1.
  • [ ] Condition: accessories and consumables are generally excluded S1.

What a claim can cost

Item What DeWalt says Source
Shipping to DeWalt Not stated by DeWalt (hand tools have a Jackson, Tennessee mail-in address) S1
Return shipping Not stated by DeWalt. Mechanics-tool replacements are shipped by DeWalt, cost not stated S1
Fees, deposits, card holds Not stated by DeWalt. S1
Replacement vs repair 3- and 7-year lines: repair; mechanics tools: replacement; hand tools: repair or replace S1
Eyewear (Radians line) User pays postage and insurance S1
Non-warranty repair charges Not stated by DeWalt. S1

How to file, step by step

  1. Identify the line and term from the table above S1.
  2. Start a request through DeWalt's claim form, which the page lists in each section, or by phone: 1-800-4-DEWALT (1-800-433-9258) is listed for the 3-year line, pressure washers and the 2-year commercial line; 1-800-433-9258 (7 AM to 11 PM ET, daily) is listed for the 7-year, mechanics, hand-tool, compressor, heated-gear and footwear sections S1. The claim page itself was blocked to our fetcher (403), so its fields are unknown.
  3. Chat on dewalt.com is listed for mechanics tools only, and the page says not to return those to a store S1.
  4. In the SDS MAX / SOS Plus 2 drill-bit section only, the page names service centres (20 factory-owned locations and 600+ authorised independent shops, at dewalt.com/service-center) and local professional retailers S1. Whether other lines can use them is not stated there.
  5. Hand tools: the page gives a US mail-in address (Stanley Black and Decker, 100 Passmore Lane, Jackson, TN 38305, Attn: Quality Assurance) S1.

How long does it take?

  • What DeWalt states: Not stated by DeWalt on its warranty page S1.
  • Customer reports, not verified: one forum user (Tools in Action, post dated January 2021) said a DCB102 charger sent to a service centre was replaced less than a week later [S2].

Common reasons claims are denied

  • Purchase from an unauthorised seller S1.
  • Normal wear, abuse, accessories, or damage from repairs done by others S1.
  • Commercial and heavy-duty limits: compressors and some commercial products carry shorter terms S1.
  • Rental use or freight damage for pressure washers S1.
  • Not the original end-user, since most terms are non-transferable S1.

Before you buy or if your claim is denied

Buy from DeWalt or a seller you can confirm is authorised, and keep the receipt even where the page says it may not be needed. If a claim is denied, ask which line and exclusion was applied and compare it to the table on the brand's page. An independent repair shop may be an option for out-of-term tools.

Sources

  1. S1 DeWalt warranty page, https://www.dewalt.com/support/warranty, accessed 2026-11-05 (brand page).
  2. [S2] Tools in Action forum thread "3/4″ Fuel OneKey Impact Failure, warranty issues", https://toolsinaction.com/forum/topic/17066-34-fuel-onekey-impact-failure-warranty-issues/, post dated 2021-01-31, accessed 2026-11-05 (forum).