The warranty guide
GearWrench Warranty: What's Covered and How to File a Claim
Independent guide. Not affiliated with or endorsed by GearWrench. Check GearWrench's current warranty terms before you file.
Last checked
Is it covered? (quick verdict)
GearWrench lists different terms by product line [S1]:
| Product line | Term stated |
|---|---|
| Mechanics hand tools | Lifetime of the original end-user purchaser |
| Torque products | 1 year, plus a 90-day calibration guarantee from receipt |
| Shop accessories, tool boxes and bags, diagnostics | 2 years |
| Tool storage | 3 years |
| Tool carts | 5 years |
- Who: the original end-user purchaser in the United States; the replacement form page says it is for US and Canadian users [S1][S2].
- Remedy: repair or replacement at GearWrench's option [S1].
- Key exclusions: wear and tear, misuse, damage from repair by anyone other than an Authorized Repair Center, modification by anyone other than GearWrench, consumables such as accessory bits and bit sockets, and products bought from unauthorised sellers, including unauthorised websites [S1].
Before you file: checklist
- [ ] Proof of purchase, such as a receipt. The form asks for it; for Amazon orders, a screenshot of the seller name [S2].
- [ ] Place of purchase (for Amazon, the seller's name from the order) [S2].
- [ ] A clear photo of the whole tool showing the damage, one tool per photo, up to 5 MB [S2].
- [ ] The item number, chosen from the form's product list [S2].
- [ ] A street address; P.O. boxes are not accepted [S2].
- [ ] Registration: Not stated by GearWrench.
- [ ] Authorised seller: required; unauthorised sellers are excluded [S1].
- [ ] Serial number: the form does not mention one [S2].
What a claim can cost
| Item | What GearWrench says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Shipping to GearWrench (replacement) | For most tools a photo is enough; no need to send the tool back | [S1] |
| Return shipping | GearWrench pays shipping on replacements | [S1] |
| Repair route (torque products) | You pay to ship to an authorised repair center; the center pays the return | [S1] |
| Fees, deposits, card holds | Not stated by GearWrench. | n/a |
| Replacement vs repair | Replacement is free; repairs are at GearWrench's expense | [S1] |
| Non-warranty repair charges | Not stated by GearWrench. | n/a |
How to file, step by step
- Check that your tool falls in a covered line and was bought from an authorised seller [S1].
- Open GearWrench's claim form [S2].
- Select the item, upload the photo and proof of purchase, and describe the fault [S2].
- Enter your contact details and accept the warranty and privacy policy [S2].
- Alternatives: call 877-626-3433 or email warrantysupport@apextoolgroup.com [S1].
- Torque products go to an authorised repair center for evaluation instead [S1].
How long does it take?
What GearWrench states: the form page says approved in-stock hand tools generally ship within 3 business days [S2]. No timeframe is given for approving a claim [S2]. The warranty page says most claims are reviewed quickly but gives no number [S1].
Customer reports, not verified (all old):
- One forum user reported a replacement arriving 7 to 10 days after calling, in February 2010 [S3].
- One user reported a socket swap that took about five months, from August to January, in a post dated February 2010 [S3].
- One user reported about three months for a mismarked socket, in May 2010 [S3].
- One user said in May 2010 that phone representatives told him the warranty runs only through distributors such as Fastenal; an individual account, not policy [S3].
No recent dated public reports found as of 2026-11-05.
Common reasons claims are denied
- Wear and tear, misuse, abuse or accident [S1].
- Damage from repair by anyone other than an Authorized Repair Center, and products modified or altered by anyone other than GearWrench [S1].
- Consumables such as bit sockets, cutting tools, taps and dies, and carrying cases [S1].
- Purchase from an unauthorised seller [S1].
- Also listed in S1: products improperly installed, used or stored, and shipping and handling damage [S1].
Before you buy or if your claim is denied
Buy from a seller GearWrench would treat as authorised and keep the order record, since the form asks for it. If a claim is denied, ask which exclusion applies and compare your tool's line against the table above.
Sources
- GearWrench warranty page, https://www.gearwrench.com/warranty, accessed 2026-11-05, brand page.
- GearWrench warranty replacement form, https://www.gearwrench.com/warranty-replacement-form, accessed 2026-11-05, brand page.
- Garage Journal thread "GearWrench warranty questions", https://www.garagejournal.com/forum/threads/gearwrench-warranty-questions.56124/, accessed 2026-11-05, forum.