Skip to content
Warranty Claim GuideIndependent guides

The warranty guide

OtterBox Warranty: What's Covered and How to File a Claim

Independent guide. Not affiliated with or endorsed by OtterBox. Check OtterBox's current warranty terms before you file.

Last checked

Is it covered? (quick verdict)

  • OtterBox says its limited warranty covers defects in materials and workmanship under normal use, for its cases and accessories including screen protectors [S1].
  • Term depends on the product and on its release date. Current text (products released on or after 1 September 2026): two years for protective cases and mobile accessories, one year for Private Collection and limited-edition items, counted from the later of purchase or delivery [S3]. Previous version (products released 1 June 2025 to 31 August 2026): three years for protective cases, two years for mobile accessories, one year for Private Collection and limited-edition items [S6]. Products released before 1 June 2025 fall under an earlier version that this page did not read. Check your product's release date. SlashGear (16 August 2026) reported the three-year figure under the version then in force [S4].
  • Claims must reach OtterBox no later than 60 calendar days after the warranty period ends [S3].
  • Remedy: repair, replacement with a new or refurbished equivalent, or a credit equal to the purchase price [S3]. The claim page says replacement is free except for shipping, handling and taxes, and that refunds are not offered [S1].
  • Not covered, current version (products released on or after 1 September 2026): normal wear, cosmetic damage such as scratches or discoloration, liquid or power-surge damage, third-party repair, and damage to the device inside [S3].

Before you file: checklist

  • [ ] Photo of the damaged product: required for all claims [S1].
  • [ ] Receipt: OtterBox says it may ask for one [S1]; a credit remedy requires a dated receipt [S3].
  • [ ] Place of purchase: the online form asks for it [S2]. Confirm it was an OtterBox website, store or authorised dealer [S3].
  • [ ] Registration: Not stated by OtterBox.
  • [ ] Serial number: Not stated by OtterBox.
  • [ ] A phone or tablet with a camera, since the online claim needs one [S2].
  • [ ] Keep the damaged product until the claim is resolved; OtterBox may ask you to send it back [S1][S2].
  • [ ] One item per claim [S2]. Schools, government offices and businesses start by phone or chat instead [S1].

What a claim can cost

Item What OtterBox says Source
Shipping to brand Not stated by OtterBox (it may ask for the product to be returned) [S1]
Return/replacement shipping A "small shipping and handling fee" applies; the amount is Not stated by OtterBox [S1]
Fees/deposits/card holds Not stated by OtterBox [S1][S2]
Replacement vs repair May repair, replace or give credit; no fee for the remedy itself beyond shipping, handling and taxes [S1][S3]
Non-warranty repair charges Not stated by OtterBox [S3]

How to file, step by step

  1. Check which warranty version applies to your product's release date [S3].
  2. Keep the damaged product and have a device with a camera ready [S2].
  3. Open OtterBox's claim form at support.otterbox.com/pages/warranty (Canada and Quebec have their own pages) [S1][S2].
  4. Sign in or continue as a guest, then enter place of purchase, select the product and add claim details [S2].
  5. Pay the shipping and handling fee at checkout and complete the photo inspection [S1][S2].
  6. Phone is an alternative: 1-855-688-7269 [S3].

How long does it take?

What OtterBox states: an approved claim usually gets an email update within 3-4 business days, then tracking when the replacement ships; contact support if more than four days pass [S1]. It also says replacements are processed "within a few business days" [S1]. The claim page itself gives no turnaround [S2].

Dated public reports (Customer report, not verified):

  • One customer reported on Trustpilot in October 2026 that after an undelivered package the company started a warranty process requiring photos, and the issue was still unresolved when posted [S5].
  • SlashGear (16 August 2026) repeated OtterBox's "few business days" and noted no concrete timeline is published [S4].

No other dated reports were opened.

Common reasons claims are denied

  • Unverified contact information, missing proof of ownership or damage, or an excessive number of claims [S1].
  • Not complying with a request for photos or returning the product [S1].
  • Current version (released on or after 1 September 2026): cosmetic damage, normal wear, liquid or power-surge damage, misuse or third-party repair [S3].
  • Previous version (released 1 June 2025 to 31 August 2026): transportation, storage or improper use; failure to follow the product instructions or do preventive maintenance; third-party modification or repair; normal wear and ageing; accidents and abuse. OtterBox is also not liable for damage to the device inside the case [S6].
  • Purchase from an unauthorised dealer [S3].
  • Claim made more than 60 days after the warranty period [S3].

Before you buy or if your claim is denied

Buy from an OtterBox site or an authorised dealer and keep the receipt and order email, since coverage depends on it [S3]. Photograph the product and any damage early. If a claim is denied, you can reply to the denial message with questions [S1].

Sources