The warranty guide
Ryobi Warranty: What's Covered and How to File a Claim
Independent guide. Not affiliated with or endorsed by Ryobi. Check Ryobi's current warranty terms before you file.
Last checked
Is it covered? (quick verdict)
Ryobi's US warranty page lists these terms by line [S1]:
| Product line | Term |
|---|---|
| 18V ONE+ portable power tools, bench/stationary tools, outdoor power equipment, batteries and chargers | 3-year limited |
| 18V ONE+ electrostatic sprayers | 3-year commercial |
| 18V ONE+ garage door opener | Lifetime on motors and belts |
| 18V ONE+ pool products | 1-year limited |
| 40V outdoor tools | 5-year limited |
| 40V outdoor batteries and chargers | 3-year limited |
| Select hand tools (e.g. tape measures, hammers, shovels) | Lifetime limited |
The page links a separate warranty PDF per category. What those PDFs say:
- Who: the original retail purchaser only; not transferable [S2][S3][S4][S5][S6][S7].
- Remedy: repair or replace at Ryobi's option, free of charge for a covered defect [S2][S3][S5].
- Outdoor equipment term: the hand-held outdoor PDF says 3 years for personal, family or household use and 30 days for commercial or rental use [S3]. The 40V PDF says 5 years for personal use and 90 days otherwise [S4].
Before you file: checklist
- [ ] Proof of purchase: power tools need proof showing the date of purchase, such as a bill of sale [S2]; outdoor products say proof "will be required" [S3]; lifetime hand tools need a copy of proof from an authorized retailer [S5]; sprayers need a receipt or bill of sale [S6]; pool products need proof [S7].
- [ ] Original equipment: power tools and sprayers go back with all included equipment [S2][S6].
- [ ] Registration: Ryobi offers a "Register Products" link, but neither the page nor the PDFs read say it is required [S1].
- [ ] Authorised seller: Not stated by Ryobi, except that lifetime hand-tool proof of purchase must come from an authorized retailer [S5].
- [ ] Serial number: lifetime hand tools with the serial number or markings removed or illegible are not covered [S5]. Photos: Not stated by Ryobi.
What a claim can cost
| Item | What Ryobi says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Shipping to Ryobi or a service centre | Power tools: returned "postage prepaid" to an authorized service center [S2]. Outdoor, 40V, pool: owner pays [S3][S4][S7]. Sprayers: your responsibility [S6]. Lifetime hand tools: owner's cost, insured [S5] | as listed |
| Return shipping | Outdoor, 40V and pool products: owner pays [S3][S4][S7]. Lifetime hand tools: Ryobi bears return shipping unless it finds the warranty does not apply [S5]. Power tools and sprayers: Not stated by Ryobi | as listed |
| Fees, card holds | Not stated by Ryobi | n/a |
| Repair or replacement | Free of charge for covered defects [S2][S3][S6] | as listed |
| Non-warranty repair | Not stated by Ryobi | n/a |
How to file, step by step
Ryobi's page describes no online claim form; it points to Help+ support, the Contact Us page, the service-centre finder and customer service at 1-800-525-2579, and links a "Claims Status" page [S1]. By category:
- Find your line's PDF on the warranty page [S1].
- Power tools: return the packaged tool to an authorized service center with proof of purchase; call 1-800-525-2579 to find one [S2].
- Outdoor products: return the product to an authorized Ryobi service center; the PDFs give 1-800-860-4050 to find one [S3][S4].
- Lifetime hand tools: call 1-800-525-2579 during the warranty period, complete the Warranty Claim Form, and ship the tool with the form and proof of purchase to Ryobi's service department in Anderson, SC; PO boxes are not valid addresses [S5].
- Sprayers and pool products: call 1-800-525-2579 [S6][S7].
How long does it take?
What Ryobi states: power tool and sprayer PDFs say work is completed within ninety (90) days or less [S2][S6]. The lifetime hand-tool, outdoor and pool PDFs state no turnaround: Not stated by Ryobi [S3][S4][S5][S7].
Customer reports, not verified (Trustpilot reviews):
- October 2026: a reviewer said a mower battery failed at 19 months and Ryobi required it to be sent back for repair [S8].
- September 2026: a reviewer said a replacement 80V battery was also defective and support described the replacement as a courtesy [S8].
- September 2026: a reviewer said a mower height part broke after the warranty expired and no replacement was sent [S8].
- November 2026: a reviewer said a customer was told to buy a new part for a purchase two weeks old [S8].
Common reasons claims are denied
From Ryobi's own PDFs:
- Misuse, abuse, neglect, accident, alteration or modification [S2][S3][S5].
- Repairs by someone other than an authorized service center [S2][S3].
- Improper maintenance, normal wear and wear items such as lines and belts (outdoor products) [S3].
- Commercial or rental use: only 30 or 90 days of cover on outdoor products, depending on line [S3][S4].
- Removed or illegible serial numbers, unapproved accessories and freight damage (lifetime hand tools) [S5].
Before you buy or if your claim is denied
Check the term for your exact line and keep the receipt, since every PDF read asks for proof of purchase. If a claim fails, compare repair quotes from independent shops.
Sources
- [S1] Ryobi, Warranties, https://support.ryobitools.com/support/warranties, accessed 2026-11-05 (brand page)
- [S2] Ryobi power tool warranty PDF, https://support.ryobitools.com/assets/warranty/ryobi_power_tool_warranty_trilingual-8cd58431cd42e430c43154381e71e870edf38fa8d152092bb3af67f9fbd63cb6.pdf, accessed 2026-11-05 (brand PDF)
- [S3] Ryobi outdoor hand-held products warranty PDF, https://support.ryobitools.com/assets/warranty/Ryobi_LG_HandHeld_Warranty-b5490e554dbb283afd66b3be62711a265ef8096b2171dffd62fcd0b4dbdd8fdc.pdf, accessed 2026-11-05 (brand PDF)
- [S4] Ryobi 40V 5 Year Warranty PDF, https://cc831cbd7a5a3a616f82-5093119187eb17284bcf20613cda98f7.ssl.cf1.rackcdn.com/pdf/RYOBI 40V 5 Year Warranty.pdf, accessed 2026-11-05 (brand PDF)
- [S5] Ryobi limited lifetime warranty PDF, https://support.ryobitools.com/assets/warranty/ryobi_limited-lifetime-warranty-d0d1d049878c9a8370318be3832e464b9e496cd5846f1ebd5d2fe8691cf1de70.pdf, accessed 2026-11-05 (brand PDF)
- [S6] Ryobi electrostatic sprayer 3-year warranty PDF, https://support.ryobitools.com/assets/warranty/Ryobi_Electrostatic Sprayer 3-year Warranty_02.pdf, accessed 2026-11-05 (brand PDF)
- [S7] Ryobi one-year (pool products) warranty PDF, https://support.ryobitools.com/assets/warranty/ryobi_one-year-warranty-b2efd68fd244af92af7f635e684458466b1acc8c59cba2acce1b66d0878bd5a2.pdf, accessed 2026-11-05 (brand PDF)
- [S8] Trustpilot, ryobitools.com reviews, https://www.trustpilot.com/review/ryobitools.com, accessed 2026-11-05 (review page; reviews dated 18 September, 28 September, 10 October and 4 November 2026)